

DEPARTMENT OF PHYSICS

UNIVERSITY OF KASHMIR, SRINAGAR-06

Minutes of the meeting of Board of Post-Graduate Studies in Physics

The meeting of the board of post-graduate studies in physics (BoPGS) was organized to frame/revise the syllabi of postgraduate courses in physics to be offered from the academic session-2022. The meeting was held in the Library /Seminar room of the Department of Physics, University of Kashmir on 1st November 2021. The following members were present.

- Prof. Basharat Ahmad Want (Chairman & Convener) Head of the Department, KU
- 2. Prof. Sheikh Javid Ahmad
- Prof. M. Farooq Mir Department of Physics, KU
- 4. Prof. Gowher Bashir Vakil Department of Physics, KU
- 5. Dr. Shakeel Ahmad Simnani Department of Physics, KU
- Dr. Sajad Masood Department of Physics, KU
- Dr. Waseem Bari Department of Physics, KU

- 8. Dr. Muzaffar Qadir Lone Department of Physics, KU
- 9. Dr. Nisar Ahmad Department of Physics, KU
- 10. Prof. Shahid Husain Department of Physics, Aligarh Muslim University, Aligarh. (External Subject Expert)
- 11. Dr. Mehraj u din Shah Government Degree College, Pulwama.
- Dr. Ajaz Ahmad Wani Department of Physics, Govt. Degree College, Kulgam
- Mr. Towseef Rehman PhD Scholar, Department of Physics, KU

The members of the board of post-graduate studies in physics discussed the contents of model curriculum prepared by the committee in the meeting held on 1-11-2021 and resolved to propose the revised syllabus for M.Sc. physics program and further recommended for the implementation of the same with effect from the year 2022 onwards. The committee also proposed a general framework and outline for the forth coming 1st Semester from March 2022. As desired by the Dean Academics, University of Kashmir, the committee proposed program outcome and learning outcomes of all the semesters from 1st to 4th. The committee also approved introduction of five new courses viz, Quantum Information, Fluid Mechanics, Density functional theory of materials, Modern Communication systems and Radiation Physics. The meeting ended with a vote of thanks by the chairman professor Basharat Ahmed Want, Head, department of Physics, University of Kashmir.

Prof. Basharat Ahmad' Want (Chairman, BoPGS)

Dated: 1-11-2021